Kumzar/ My Camera is Upset

DSC_3734-2
The Abu Dhabi skyline, shot after other options had run out, literally, in some cases.

My interest in photography grew stronger than ever after I moved to the Emirates. Maybe because it was sometimes forbidden fruit, coupled with the fascinating offerings the young nation presented, immensely ambitious and westward-looking, always trying to arrive at a compromise with its old ways. I had also recently bid adieu to my desk job and finally had the time to do the things that mattered to me. But one thing was for sure and to my disadvantage—the country didn’t take very kindly to camera-wielding culture vultures.

Prohibitive signs greeted me at almost every photoworthy spot—beaches, bridges and ports—and where there were no signs the embargo came in the form of sour looks or outright injunctions from security guards.  At the local photography club in Abu Dhabi, members almost never presented pictures of their adopted country, except the occasional tribute to its unreasonably tall buildings; the submissions were mostly records of their holidays, studio-made portraits or scenes from places they lived in before coming to the UAE.

DSC_0718-2
Our dhow dropped anchor for an hour as we dived into the waters for an invigorating swim.

But so far I had failed to whip up much love for the cities’ superstructures, and my photography plans somewhat thwarted, I decided to take a trip with my favourite travel partner. One spring morning we rode a bus across the country’s northern border to the city of Khasab, and from there sailed on a dhow on the Strait of Hormuz, drinking sweet Omani tea, making small talk with wild dolphins, till we turned into the inlet that would bring us to the still remote village of Kumzar.

Don’t forget to see the photo essay on Kumzar.

Back to top

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers
    and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You
    have done a wonderful job!

    Like

  2. I tend not to leave many responses, however i did some searching and
    wound up here Kumzar / my camera is upset | Paper Boats.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if you usually do not mind.

    Could it be simply me or does it appear like a few of these remarks look like left by brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are writing on additional sites, I would
    like to keep up with everything new you have
    to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of your shared
    sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or
    linkedin profile?

    Like

  3. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site offered us with useful info to work on. You have done an impressive activity and our entire community will be thankful to you.

    Like

share your thoughts

